shieldpolew.blogg.se

Windows terminal bash shell
Windows terminal bash shell









Then, what you need to do, is open the VSCode settings, add a profile and fill out the fields (We'll first focus on the name for the profile and the path that we just found):Īfter that, we just have to validate our new profile by opening a new tab by clicking on the "downward pointing arrow" and and then on the newly created "Git-Bash" profile:Īs you can see, the behavior is not at all what we expect as Git-Bash opens in a new window instead of a new tab! This is strange, but not a huge problem. In my case, but almost always this value is C:\Program Files\Git\git-bash.exe (so you can save yourself the trouble work with this one) in the properties window that opens, you can find the full path to the Git-Bash exe in the field with name "target":.In the popup that opens, click on properties:

windows terminal bash shell

Right click the Git-Bash icon in the taskbar and then right click again on Git-Bash in the menu that shows: After that I'll show the correct approach!įinding the path to the Git-Bash exe can be done in 3 simple steps: The idea is that I first found a suboptimal solution (out of a naive approach), which I'll explain first. I discovered pretty quick that there was a catch and in this post, I want to show you what I did, why it didn't work and finally, how you need to approach this.Īll you need, or so I thought, is to add the exe of Gi-Bash to a new windows terminal profile. At that moment, I didn't realize that this would result in a blogpost 😉. and I immediately showed him how this can be done via the settings of Windows terminal. First thing he asked then, was if it would be possible to add Git-Bash as a tab. This morning I saw a colleague working in Git-Bash and the good-old-fashioned "windows command line" and I thought to myself, why doesn't he "just" use Windows terminal? So, I showed him Windows Terminal and he was impressed.











Windows terminal bash shell